Merrell vs Salomon: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared [2022-Guide]

When it comes to Merrell vs Salomon comparison, it could be really compelling to pick the right hiking shoes or hiking boots. Both brands are very popular. So, what is the difference between Merrell and Salomon? This, time we compared the hiking shoes and boots of Merrell and Salomon, and list the key differences between them to help you make a clear decision on this comparison.

Main Differences between Merrell and Salomon Hiking Shoes & Boots

At first glance, the main difference between these two is the price tag. Usually, Salomon hiking shoes and boots are expensive than the Merrell hiking shoes and boots. So, is it worth buying the Salomon instead of Merrell? Definetly, we recommend Salomon over Merrell, if you can pay a bit more. Because of its higher built quality and the field performance, we admire both hiking shoes and boots of Salomon and pick them over the ones of Merrell. On the other hand, if you are looking for a more budged option, Merrell’s hiking shoes and boots are darn good products and recommended as well.

Here is the table we have put together to help you better understand Merrell vs Salomon Hiking Shoes Comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon X Ultra 4 GTXMerrell Moab 2 VentilatorMerrell Moab 2 Waterproof
Our Score91/10067/10078/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.3/54/54/5
Support5/54/54/5
Traction4.5/54/54.5/5
Versatility4/53/53.5/5
Water-Proof Rate5/51.5/53/5
Durability4.5/53.5/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

Here is the table we have put together to help you better understand Merrell vs Salomon Hiking Boots Comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon Quest 4 GTXSalomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTXMerrell Moab 2 Mid VentilatorMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score96/10093/10082/10088/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort5/54.8/55/54.8/5
Stability5/54.8/54.1/54.1/5
Traction4.5/54.5/54.4/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate5/55/53/54/5
Durability4.5/54.3/54/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

You may also wonder “Keen vs Salomon: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared” post.

Merrell VS Salomon HIKING SHOES COMPARISON

Considering the hiking shoes options, we have Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX, and Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof.

Merrell offers Moab 2 hiking shoes as Moab 2 Ventilator and Moab 2 Waterproof. If you wonder the differences between Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof, we recommend reading our Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator vs Waterproof hiking shoes comparison. Let’s start off the comparison of Salomon vs Merrell Hiking Shoes:

Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof: Main Differences

To begin with both Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX and Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes are great. However, when we compare their performance side-by-side, the X Ultra 4 GTX excels the Moab 2 WaterProof. The main differences between these two is the water-proof membrane. Salomon uses Gore-Tex which is a well-known water-proof membrane and widely used on many products. On the other hand, Merrell use its own M-Select Dry water-proof membrane.

Honestly, none of these membranes are 100% water-proof, but they can resist water penetration up to a point. However, we gave 5/5 to Salomon considering water resistance, since the Gore-Tex membrane is the best one in the market place. Unlikely, M Select Dry membrane is less water-proof in comparison to Gore-Tex.

Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes: Main Differences

The midsole construction of Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX is made of injected EVA and its last board/shank is Molded Advanced Chasis. We found Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX is more suitable for rough and uneven terrain than the Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof, since Moab 2 Waterproof has EVA midsole and nylon shank.

Considering the traction, both Salomon and Merrell are highly competitive and great in comparison to the other hiking shoes in the market. We couldn’t find any noticeable differences in this aspect.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon X Ultra 4 GTXMerrell Moab 2 Waterproof
Our Score91/10078/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.3/54/5
Support5/54/5
Traction4.5/54.5/5
Versatility4/53.5/5
Water-Proof Rate5/53/5
Durability4.5/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricLeather-SyntheticLeather
Waterproof MembraneGore-TexM Select Dry
ShankAdvanced Chassis-MoldedNylon
Midsole MaterialInjected-EVAEVA
Outsole MaterialContaGrip-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

So, which one is a better hiking shoe? It may seem complicated, but what we recommend is to consider your budged while making your decision. If you can pay a bit more, we definetly recommend Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX over Merrell Moab 2 Waterpoof. The Salomon is the one which produces the best hiking shoes in the market. However, Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof is also a great option, and very reasonable when it comes to price vs performance. Except the water-resistance performance, it is really hard to compare these two, if you are not an expert or an experienced hiker. You can check out the links on the table above and the get the latest rates of both hiking shoes in Amazon.com and compare them from the price point.

Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: Main Differences

The key difference between Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator is the breathability, water resistance, and the price tag. The Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator does not have a water proof membrane on it. Therefore, it is highly breathable but it is not suitable for the wet climate. On the other hand, the Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX has Gore-Tex water-proof membrane on it, which makes it a better option on the wet climate, but it compromises on the breathability.

Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator hiking shoes: Main Differences

Considering the traction, both Vibram TC5+ of Merrell and ContaGrip of Salomon works great. We couldn’t see any noticeable difference in this aspect.

We found Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX more supportive and stable compared to the Moab 2 Ventilator. The midsole of Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX is made of molded Advance Chasis which works great for the support and stability. On the other hand, the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator has molded nylon shank.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator hiking shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon X Ultra 4 GTXMerrell Moab 2 Ventilator
Our Score91/10067/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.3/54/5
Support5/54/5
Traction4.5/54/5
Versatility4/53/5
Water-Proof Rate5/51.5/5
Durability4.5/53.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricLeather-SyntheticSuede Leather & Mesh
Waterproof MembraneGore-TexNot Applicable
ShankAdvanced Chassis-MoldedArch Shank-Molded Nylon
Midsole MaterialInjected-EVAEVA
Outsole MaterialContaGrip-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

Our verdict for Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: This time, it is an easy decision. We prefer Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX for the wet climate, but Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator for the hot climate. You can check out the performance table above, and decide which criteria are most important for you to pick the right hiking shoe.

Merrell VS Salomon HIKING BOOTS COMPARISON

Considering the hiking boots options, we have Salomon Quest 4 GTX and X Ultra 4 Mid GTX, and Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Mid Waterproof.

Merrell offers its Moab 2 hiking boots as Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. If you wonder the differences between Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Mid Waterproof, we recommend reading our Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots comparison. Let’s start off comparison of Salomon vs Merrell Hiking Boots:

Salomon Quest 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

Both hiking boots are versatile and great. But, there are some differences that we need to focus before making a decision. So, when we evaluate them side by side, we found the main differences between the Salomon Quest 4 GTX vs Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots are related to their stability and water resistance.

Salomon Guest 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots Main Differences

The midsole construction of Salomon Quest 4 GTX is made of EnergyCell which works very well when it comes to shock attenuation. In this aspect, Salomon Quest 4 GTX does better than the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof which uses standard EVA midsole.

About the stability, Salomon’s Advanced 4D Chasis is especially designed to provide best foot control and active comfort. However, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof uses conventional molded arch shank.

How about the water resistance? When it comes to water-proof rating of these two hiking boots, Salomon uses the well-known Gore-Tex membrane. On the other hand, Merrell uses its own M Select Dry membrane. Honestly, none of these membranes are 100% water-proof, but they can resist water penetration up to a point. However, we gave 5/5 to Salomon considering water resistance, since the Gore-Tex membrane is the best one in the market place. Unlikely, M Select Dry membrane is less water-proof in comparison to Gore-Tex.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Salomon Quest 4 GTXs vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon Quest 4 GTXMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score96/10088/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort5/54.8/5
Stability5/54.1/5
Traction4.5/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate5/54/5
Durability4.5/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
TypeIt is a heavy hiking & backpacking bootIt is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
Water Proof MembraneGore-TexHas M Select Dry Waterproof Lining
Upper FabricUpper fabric is Nubuck Leather Upper fabric is mesh-suede
ShankIts shank is Salomon’s 4D Advanced ChasisThere is molded nylon-arch shank.
Midsole MaterialMidsole is EnergyCellMidsole is Eva.
Sole MaterialSole is ContaGrip-Non MarkingSole is Vibram-TC5+.

So, which one is a better hiking boot? Our personal preference is to go with the Salomon Quest 4 GTX hiking boot, since it offers great experience in all aspects. However, if you are looking for a more budged option, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof is still a great hiking boot. From the price stand point, you can check out the links on the table above to get the latest rates on Amazon.com.

Salomon Quest 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

We compared Salomon Quest 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and would like to share the key differences between them. Briefly, Salomon Quest 4 GTX is suitable for all types of terrain and climates (dry and wet). However, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is more breathable than the Salomon. Also, it is low cost, and lightweight in comparison to Salomon Quest 4 GTX. Yet, the Moab 2 Ventilator is definetly not suitable for the wet enviroment.

Quest 4 GTX vs Moab 2 Mid Ventilator Hiking Boots Main Differences

In the table below, we summarized the key differences between Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Salomon Quest 4 GTX. However, if we need to highlight the main difference, then we need to talk about the water-resistance. The Salomon has Gore-Tex on it which works great on wet environment. However, the main purpose of Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is to make a breatable hiking boot instead of water-proof. So, Moab 2 Mid Ventilator does not have any water-proof membrane on it and therefore not suitable for the wet environment.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Salomon Quest 4 GTX Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon Quest 4 GTXMerrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator
Our Score96/10082/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort5/55/5
Stability5/54.1/5
Traction4.5/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate5/53/5
Durability4.5/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

Our Verdict for the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Salomon Quest 4 GTX hiking boots comparison: For the dry but hot environment, the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is a good option, since it breathes very well. For the all other condition, we recommend the Salomon Quest 4 GTX. Also, from price point the Merrell could be a better option. You can check out the links above to see the latest price on Amazon.

Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

If you are looking for a waterproof hiking boot and end-up with Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof, we will definitely recommend the Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX over Moab 2 Mid Waterproof.

Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots Main Differences

Indeed, there is a lot to say when we compare the Salomon with the Merrell. The structure and the design technology is completely different. For instance, the Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX uses Salomon’s Advance Chasis to provide great foot control. On the other hand, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof uses traditonal nylon shank.

Also, Salomon has Gore-Text on its X Ultra 4 Mid GTX which is a well-known water-proof membrane. The Merrell has its own M Select Dry water-proof membrane. Honestly, none of these membranes are 100% water-proof. Yet, we had a better field experience with the Gore-Tex products on the wet environment, therefore Salomon does better than the Merrell considering the water-resistance.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTXMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score93/10088/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/54.8/5
Stability4.8/54.1/5
Traction4.5/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate5/54/5
Durability4.5/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
TypeIt is a light-weight hiking/backpacking boot.It is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
Water Proof MembraneGore-TexHas M Select Dry Waterproof Lining
Upper FabricPolyurethane Coated Leather Upper fabric is mesh-suede
ShankAdvanced ChasisThere is molded nylon-arch shank.
Midsole MaterialEnergyCellMidsole is Eva.
Sole MaterialAll Terrain ContaGripSole is Vibram-TC5+.

So, if you are in between of Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX or Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof, we definitely recommend the Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX hiking boot over the Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. However, it is up to you at the end. You can check the table above and decide which parameter or performance criteria are most important to you while picking the right hiking boot.

Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

We compared the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX and would like to share the key differences between them. Although, there are lots of thing to say, the main difference between them is the water-resistance. The Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is more breathable and lighter than the Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX. However, it is not suitable for the wet environment. If you are looking for a versatile hiking boot and can pay a bit more, we recommend Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX over Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator.

X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Moab 2 Mid Ventilator Hiking Boots Main Differences

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTX vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Salomon X Ultra 4 Mid GTXMerrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator
Our Score93/10082/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/55/5
Stability4.8/54.1/5
Traction4.5/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate5/53/5
Durability4.3/54/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

BOTTOM-LINE

For the hiking shoes, our verdict for Merrell vs Salomon comparison is;

  • You can go with Salomon X Ultra 4 GTX, if you are looking for great comfort, versatility (usable for both dry and wet environment) and support/stability.
  • You can go with Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator, if you are looking for lightweight and excellent breathability. It is also more budged.

For the hiking boots, our verdict for Merrell vs Salomon comparison

  • The Salomon Quest 4 GTX is the winner of Merrell vs Salomon hiking boots comparison. Its performance excels the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof hiking boots. Therefore, we highly recommend the Salomon Quest 4 GTX over Merrell Moab line.
  • On the other hand, if your criterion for hiking boot is the breathability, then you can consider Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator which is also highly budged friendly. It is good to note that the Moab 2 Ventilator hiking boots is not water-proof, so pay attention to this when making your final decision.

If you are wondering the differences between Keen and Merrell shoes, we highly recommend reading our “Keen vs Merrell: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared” article.