Keen vs Merrell: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared [Guide – 2022]

When it comes to Keen vs Merrell comparison, it could be really compelling to pick the right hiking shoes or hiking boots. Both brands are the most popular ones in the market place and perform very similar. So, what is the difference between Keen and Merrell? This time we compared the hiking shoes and boots of Keen and Merrell, and list the key differences between them to help you make a clear decision on this comparison.

Main Differences between Keen and Merrell Hiking Shoes & Boots

Here is the table we have put together to help you better understand Keen vs Merrell Hiking Shoes Comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee IIIKeen Targhee IIMerrell Moab 2 VentilatorMerrell Moab 2 Waterproof
Our Score80/10085/10067/10078/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4/54.5/54/54/5
Support4.5/55/54/54/5
Traction3.5/54/54/54.5/5
Versatility4/54/53/53.5/5
Water-Proof Rate4/54/51.5/53/5
Durability4/54/53.5/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

Here is the table we have put together to help you better understand Keen vs Merrell Hiking Boots Comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee III MidKeen Targhee II MidMerrell Moab 2 Mid VentilatorMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score88/10092/10082/10088/100
Deals & DiscountsRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on AmazonRates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/54.8/55/54.8/5
Stability4.1/54.6/54.1/54.1/5
Traction4.8/54.8/54.4/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate4/54/53/54/5
Durability4.2/54.7/54/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

You may also wonder “Merrell vs Salomon: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared” post.

Keen vs Merrell Hiking Shoes Comparison

Considering the hiking shoes options, we have Keen Targhee II and III, and Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof.

Keen offers Targhee hiking shoes as Targhee II and Targhee III. If you wonder the differences between these two, we recommend reading our Keen Targhee II vs III hiking shoes comparison.

Also, Merrell offers Moab 2 hiking shoes as Moab 2 Ventilator and Moab 2 Waterproof. If you wonder the differences between Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof, we recommend reading our Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator vs Waterproof hiking shoes comparison.

Let’s start off the comparison of Keen vs Merrell Hiking Shoes:

Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof: Main Differences

To begin with both Keen Targhee III and Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes are great. But, the main differences between these two are the support, traction and water resistance.

Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof: Main Differences

The midsole construction of Keen Targhee III is made of dual density EVA and its last board/shank is ESS. Therefore, the Keen Targhee III is more suitable for rough and uneven terrain than the Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof since Moab 2 Waterproof has EVA midsole and nylon shank. Due to same reason, the Keen Targhee III serves better than the Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof in terms of support and stability.

Considering the traction, Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof has Vibram TC5+ rubber material on the outsole which gives better traction compared to the non-marking rubber of Keen Targhee III.

Both hiking shoes are made of waterproof membrane, but honestly, none of them 100% waterproof. Based on our hands on test on wet climate, Keen.Dry waterproof membrane of Keen Targhee III was better than the M Select DRY waterproof membrane of Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee IIIMerrell Moab 2 Waterproof
Our Score80/10078/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4/54/5
Support4.5/54/5
Traction3.5/54.5/5
Versatility4/53.5/5
Water-Proof Rate4/53/5
Durability4/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricLeather-Full GrainLeather
Width OptionsRegularRegular
Waterproof MembraneKeen.Dry Waterproof Breathable MembraneM Select Dry
ShankESS Shank/LightweightNylon
Midsole MaterialEva-Dual DensityEVA
Outsole MaterialRubber-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

So, which one is a better hiking shoe? It is really hard to pick the right one, since they are both great on different circumstances. Our personal preference is to go with the Keen Targhee III, since it offers better support and water resistance in comparison to Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof. We recommend you checking out our scoring table above, and pick the right one based on what performance criteria is most important to you.

Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: Main Differences

The key difference between Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator is the breathability, water resistance, traction and support. The Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator does not have a water proof membrane on it. Therefore, it is highly breathable but it is not suitable for the wet climate. On the other hand, the Keen Targhee III has Keen.DRY waterproof membrane on it, which makes it a better option on the wet climate, but it compromises on the breathability.

Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: Main Differences

Considering the traction, the Moab 2 Ventilator has better traction due to Vibram TC5+ rubber outsole design. On the other hand, the Keen Targhee III has non-marking rubber outsole.

We found Keen Targhee III more supportive and stable compared to the Moab 2 Ventilator. The midsole of Keen Targhee III is made of ESS Shank to provide support and stability. On the other hand, the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator has molded nylon shank.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator hiking shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee IIIMerrell Moab 2 Ventilator
Our Score80/10067/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4/54/5
Support4.5/54/5
Traction3.5/54/5
Versatility4/53/5
Water-Proof Rate4/51.5/5
Durability4/53.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricLeather-Full GrainSuede Leather & Mesh
Width OptionsRegularRegular/Wide
Waterproof MembraneKeen.Dry Waterproof Breathable MembraneNot Applicable
ShankESS Shank/LightweightArch Shank-Molded Nylon
Midsole MaterialEva-Dual DensityEVA
Outsole MaterialRubber-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

Our verdict for Keen Targhee III vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: It is an easy decision for us. We prefer Keen Targhee III for the wet climate, but Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator for the hot climate. You can check out the performance table above, and decide which criteria are most important for you to pick the right hiking shoe.

Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof: Main Differences

If you are looking for a waterproof hiking shoe and end-up with Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof, we will definitely recommend the Targhee II over Moab 2 Waterproof.

Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof: Main Differences

Considering the water resistance, the Keen.DRY waterproof membrane of Targhee II excels the M Select Dry waterproof membrane of Moab 2 Waterproof. Also, the Targhee II is more supportive and more stable hiking shoe than the Moab 2 Waterproof. It has an increased stability due to ESS torsional stability shank.

Based on our hands on test, we found the Keen Targhee II more comfortable than the Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof hiking shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee IIMerrell Moab 2 Waterproof
Our Score85/10078/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.5/54/5
Support5/54/5
Traction4/54.5/5
Versatility4/53.5/5
Water-Proof Rate4/53/5
Durability4/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricNubuck Leather & MeshLeather
Width OptionsRegular/WideRegular
Waterproof MembraneKeen.Dry Waterproof Breathable MembraneM Select Dry
ShankESS Torsional StabilityNylon
Midsole MaterialCompression Molded Eva – Dual DensityEVA
Outsole MaterialRubber-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

So, if you are in between of Keen Targhee II or Merrell Moab 2 Waterproof, we definitely recommend the Targhee II over the Moab 2 Waterproof. However, it is up to you at the end. You can check the table above and decide which parameter or performance criteria are most important to you while picking the right hiking shoe.

Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: Main Differences

When it comes to Targhee II vs Moab 2 Ventilator comparison, it is good to note the key differences between them first! Their performances considering the support and water resistance are not the same. The Targhee II has a waterproof membrane on it. Therefore, it is very suitable for the wet climate. Due to same reason, it is heavier than the Moab 2 Ventilator. On the other hand, the Moab 2 Ventilator is suitable for only hot climate since it has no waterproof membrane on it. Moreover, Targhee II has ESS Shank and compression molded dual density EVA midsole. This is great for support and stability. However, the Moab 2 Ventilator has molded nylon shank and EVA on its midsole.

Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator: Main Differences

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee II vs Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator Hiking Shoes side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee IIMerrell Moab 2 Ventilator
Our Score85/10067/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.5/54/5
Support5/54/5
Traction4/54/5
Versatility4/53/5
Water-Proof Rate4/51.5/5
Durability4/53.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
Upper FabricNubuck Leather & MeshSuede Leather & Mesh
Width OptionsRegular/WideRegular/Wide
Waterproof MembraneKeen.Dry Waterproof Breathable MembraneNot Applicable
ShankESS Torsional StabilityArch Shank-Molded Nylon
Midsole MaterialCompression Molded Eva – Dual DensityEVA
Outsole MaterialRubber-Non MarkingVibram TC5+

Our Verdict for Targhee II vs Moab 2 Ventilator: Considering the water resistance, you can go with Targhee II for both wet and hot climate. But, the Moab 2 Ventilator is highly breathable but not water proof and therefore only suitable for the hot climate. Our personal preference is to go with Targhee II instead of Moab 2 Ventilator. Both of them are highly comfortable but, Targhee II is more stable/supportive and versatile than Moab 2 Ventilator.

Keen vs Merrell Hiking Boots Comparison

Considering the hiking boots options, we have Keen Targhee II Mid and III Mid, and Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Mid Waterproof.

Keen offers Targhee hiking boots as Targhee II Mid and Targhee III Mid. If you wonder the differences between these two, we recommend reading our Keen Targhee II Mid vs III Mid hiking boots comparison.

Also, Merrell offers its Moab 2 hiking boots as Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. If you wonder the differences between Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and Mid Waterproof, we recommend reading our Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots comparison.

Let’s start off comparison of Keen vs Merrell Hiking Boots:

Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

Both hiking boots are versatile and great. But, there are some differences that we need to focus before making a decision. So, when we evaluate them side by side, we found the main differences between the Targhee III Mid vs Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots are related to their support, traction and water resistance.

Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

The midsole construction of Keen Targhee III Mid is made of dual density EVA and its last board/shank is ESS. Therefore, the Keen Targhee III Mid is more suitable for rough and uneven terrain than the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof since Moab 2 Mid Waterproof has EVA midsole and nylon shank. Due to same reason, the Keen Targhee III Mid serves better than the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof in terms of support and stability.

Considering the traction, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof has Vibram TC5+ rubber material on the outsole which gives better traction compared to the non-marking rubber of Keen Targhee III Mid.

Both hiking boots are made of waterproof membrane, but frankly, none of them 100% waterproof. Based on our hands on test on wet climate, Keen.Dry waterproof membrane of Keen Targhee III Mid was better than the M Select DRY waterproof membrane of Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof hiking boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee III MidMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score88/10088/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/54.8/5
Stability4.1/54.1/5
Traction4.8/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate4/54/5
Durability4.2/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
TypeIt is a light-weight hiking/backpacking boot.It is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
Width OptionsThere are two options available. Regular-Wide.There are two width options available: Regular-Wide.
Water Proof MembraneHas a waterproof lining inside- Keen.Dry-Waterproof Breathable Membrane.Has M Select Dry Waterproof Lining
Upper FabricUpper fabric is oiled nubuck leather. Upper fabric is mesh-suede
ShankIts shank is ESS-Torsional Stability.There is molded nylon-arch shank.
Midsole MaterialMidsole is dual density EVA.Midsole is Eva.
Sole MaterialSole is all-terrain rubber of Keen.Sole is Vibram-TC5+.

So, which one is a better hiking boot? Our personal preference is to go with the Keen Targhee III Mid hiking boot, since it offers better support and water resistance in comparison to Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. We recommend you checking out our scoring table above, and pick the right one based on what performance criteria is most important to you while picking right hiking boot.

Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

We compared Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid and would like to share the key differences between them. Briefly, the winner is the Keen Targhee III Mid. The boots are almost at the same weight, around 2.40 lbs, and both of them are very stable. Our testers found them very comfortable, and reported that their comfort level is the same.

Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

So, what is the distinguishing factor of the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Keen Targhee III Mid? The traction, water resistance and durability make the Keen Targhee III Mid better than the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator. Although the difference in traction and durability are small, it still increases the overall score of the Keen Targhee III Mid.

What is the main difference between the Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator? It is definitely the water resistance. The Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator breathes perfectly; however, it compromises water resistance to enhance breathability. On the other hand, the Keen Targhee III Mid has the water proof Keen.DRY membrane. It is not the best water resistant membrane out there, but still beats the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee III MidMerrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator
Our Score88/10082/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/55/5
Stability4.1/54.1/5
Traction4.8/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate4/53/5
Durability4.2/54.5/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

Apart from these facts, we listed the technical details of the Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator side by side. Hope it will help to decide.

Keen Targhee III Mid

  • It is a light-weight hiking/backpacking boot.
  • There are two options available. Regular-Wide.
  • Has a waterproof lining inside- Keen.Dry-Waterproof Breathable Membrane.
  • Upper fabric is oiled nubuck leather.
  • Its shank is ESS-Torsional Stability.
  • Midsole is dual density EVA.
  • Sole is all-terrain rubber of Keen.

See it

Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator

  • It is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
  • There are two width options available: Regular-Wide.
  • Has no waterproof lining inside – No Gore-Tex.
  • Upper fabric is mesh-suede
  • There is molded nylon-arch shank.
  • Midsole is Eva.
  • Sole is Vibram-TC5+.

See it

Our Verdict for the Keen Targhee III Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator hiking boots comparison: For the dry but hot environment, the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is a good option, since it breathes very well. For the all other condition, we recommend the Keen Targhee III Mid, which has better traction, stability, and durability.

Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

If you are looking for a waterproof hiking boot and end-up with Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof, we will definitely recommend the Targhee II Mid over Moab 2 Mid Waterproof.

Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof: Main Differences

Considering the water resistance, the Keen.DRY waterproof membrane of Targhee II Mid excels the M Select Dry waterproof membrane of Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. Also, the Targhee II Mid is more supportive and more stable hiking boot than the Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. The Targhee II Mid has an increased stability due to ESS torsional stability shank.

Based on our hands on test, we found the Keen Targhee II Mid more comfortable than the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee II MidMerrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof
Our Score92/10088/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/54.8/5
Stability4.6/54.1/5
Traction4.8/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate4/54/5
Durability4.7/54.7/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review
TypeIt is a light-weight hiking/backpacking boot.It is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
Width OptionsThere are two options available. Regular-Wide.There are two width options available: Regular-Wide.
Water Proof MembraneHas a waterproof lining inside- Keen.Dry-Waterproof Breathable Membrane.Has M Select Dry Waterproof Lining
Upper FabricUpper fabric is nubuck leather. Upper fabric is mesh-suede
ShankIts shank is ESS-Torsional Stability.There is molded nylon-arch shank.
Midsole MaterialMidsole is dual density molded EVA.Midsole is Eva.
Sole MaterialSole is rubber-outer sole, non-marking.Sole is Vibram-TC5+.

So, if you are in between of Keen Targhee II Mid or Merrell Moab 2 Mid Waterproof, we definitely recommend the Targhee II Mid hiking boot over the Moab 2 Mid Waterproof. However, it is up to you at the end. You can check the table above and decide which parameter or performance criteria are most important to you while picking the right hiking boot.

Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

We compared the Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator and would like to share the key differences between them. Briefly, the winner is the Keen Targhee II Mid. The boots are almost at the same weight, around 2.40 lbs, and both of them are very stable. Our testers found them very comfortable, and reported that their comfort level is the same.

Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator: Main Differences

So, what is the distinguishing factor of the Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator vs Keen Targhee II Mid comparison? The traction, water resistance and durability make the Keen Targhee II better than the Merrell Moab 2. Although the difference in traction and durability are very small, it still increases the overall score of the Keen Targhee II Mid.

What is the key difference between the Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator? It is definitely the water resistance. The Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator breathes perfectly, however, it compromises water resistance to enhance breathability. On the other hand, the Keen Targhee II Mid has the water proof Keen.DRY membrane. It is not the best water resistant membrane out there, but still beats the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator.

Here is the list we have put together to help you better understand Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator Hiking Boots side by side comparison:

Comparison of#Keen Targhee II MidMerrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator
Our Score92/10082/100
Deals & Discounts Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon Rates for Men’s / Women’s on Amazon
Comfort4.8/55/5
Stability4.6/54.1/5
Traction4.8/54.4/5
Water-Proof Rate4/53/5
Durability4.7/54/5
Expert Eval.In-depth ReviewIn-depth Review

Apart from these facts, we listed the technical details of the Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator side by side. Hope it will help to decide.

Keen Targhee II Mid

  • Size 11 – per pair weight is around 1.1 kg or 2.38 lbs.
  • It is a light-weight hiking/backpacking boot.
  • There are two options available. Regular-Wide.
  • Has a waterproof lining inside- Keen.Dry-Waterproof Breathable Membrane.
  • Upper fabric is nubuck leather.
  • Its shank is ESS-Torsional Stability.
  • Midsole is dual density molded EVA.
  • Sole is rubber-outer sole, non-marking.

See it

Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator

  • Size 11 – per pair weight is around 1.1 kg or 2.4 lbs.
  • It is a light-weight hiking, backpacking boot.
  • There are two width options available: Regular-Wide.
  • Has no waterproof lining inside – No Gore-Tex.
  • Upper fabric is mesh-suede
  • There is molded nylon-arch shank.
  • Midsole is Eva.
  • Sole is Vibram-TC5+.

See it

Bottom line for the Keen Targhee II Mid vs Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator comparison: For the dry but hot environment, Merrell Moab 2 Mid Ventilator is a good option, since it breathes very well. Also, it is more budged friendly, which is around $110. For the all other condition, we recommend the Keen Targhee II Mid ($140), which has a better traction, stability, and durability.

Bottom-line

For the hiking shoes, our verdict for Keen vs Merrell comparison is;

  • You can go with Keen Targhee II, if you are looking for great comfort, versatility (usable for both dry and wet environment) and support/stability.
  • You can go with Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator, if you are looking for lightweight and excellent breathability. It is also more budged.

For the hiking boots, our verdict for Keen vs Merrell comparison

  • The Targhee II is the winner of Keen vs Merrell comparison. Its performance excels the Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator and Waterproof hiking boots. Therefore, we highly recommend the Keen Targhee II over Merrell Moab line.
  • On the other hand, if your criterion for hiking boot is the breathability, then you can consider Merrell Moab 2 Ventilator which is also highly budged friendly. It is good to note that the Moab 2 Ventilator hiking boots is not water-proof, so pay attention to this.

If you are wondering the differences between Keen and Salomon shoes, we highly recommend reading our “Keen vs Salomon: Both Hiking Shoes and Boots Compared” article.